Skip to content Skip to navigation

Advisory Council on Campus Climate, Anti Racism and Equity (CCCAE)

Welcome to the Chancellor’s Advisory Council on Campus Climate, Anti Racism and Equity (CCCAE) at UC Merced

The Chancellor’s Council on Climate, Anti-Racism and Equity CCCAE reports up to both Chancellor and EVC/P with a charge of developing and implementing accountability measures for campus-wide initiatives aimed at combating racism and provides oversite for the Valuing Black Lives initiatives.

The Office of Equity, Justice and Inclusive Excellence (EJIE) reconstituted the Chancellor’s Advisory Committee on Campus Climate and Inclusion (CCCI) into a Chancellor’s Advisory Committee on Campus Climate, Antiracism and Equity (CCCAE) that will include student, staff and faculty representatives from diverse groups.
 

2022-2023 CCCAE Meeting Schedule:

  • October, 6th
  • November, 9th
  • December, 7th
  • January, 25th
  • February, 23rd
  • March, 23rd
  • April, 20th
  • May, 25th

All Meetings Occur from 12:00 – 1:00 pm -In Person

 

The following individuals serve on the Council on Climate, Culture, Anti-Racism and Equity (CCCAE) for the 2022-2023 academic year:

Hector Cuevas, CCCAE Chair, Assistant Director, Office of Leadership, Service, Career – hcuevas@ucmerced.edu

Suzanne Sindi, Chair and Professor of Applied Mathematics – ssindi@ucmerced.edu

Hector Escalante, University Ombudsperson - hcmescalante@ucmerced.edu – Ex – Officio

Vanessa Hauser, Associate Director, Office of Student Rights and Responsibility - vhauser@ucmerced.edu

Daniel Mello, Non-Senate Faculty of Psychology - dmello@ucmerced.edu

Koto Babaguchi, Graduate Student – kbabaguchi@ucmerced.edu

Kate Larios, Undergraduate Student – Katelarios92@gmail.com

Demitra Borrero, Interlibrary Loan Coordinator -dborrero@ucmerced.edu

Hala Alnagar – Inclusive Excellence Initiatives Coordinator – halnagar@ucmerced.edu - Ex – Officio

 

Background on the UC Systemwide Campus Climate Survey

In recognition of the importance of gauging campus climate in order to create more inclusive and welcoming environments, in 2010, then University of California President Mark G. Yudof formed a President’s Advisory Council on Campus Climate, Culture, and Inclusion charged with monitoring campus progress and metrics, and examining campus practice and policy. Each of the chancellors created similar councils on the ten campuses and, in May 2010, the Regents created the Ad Hoc Committee on Campus Climate.

In 2012, the UC Office of the President commissioned a systemwide campus climate study across the ten UC campuses and three UC Locations (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, UC Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources, and UC Office of the President). Working with Rankin & Associates Consulting (R&A), the University created a survey that all members of the 13 locations were invited to complete. More than 104,000 people responded, providing information about their identity and demographics, the climate they personally experience, their perceptions of level of respect, their perceptions of the value of various institutional actions and policies, and their intentions as to graduating from UC or continuing to work at UC.

This study is one part of UC’s ongoing efforts to foster a healthy and inclusive environment for all members of the University community. Each UC location will engage deeply with data from the study in order to develop new actions or initiatives, or enhance existing efforts, that will improve the working, living, and learning environments at the University of California.

 
 
FINAL REPORT OF THE CAMPUS CLIMATE SURVEY

UC MERCED FINAL CLIMATE SURVEY REPORT

CHANCELLOR LELAND'S MESSAGE TO FACULTY & STAFF ON THE CAMPUS CLIMATE SURVEY - VIEW HERE
 
 
FOR FURTHER RESOURCES INCLUDING CLIMATE SURVEY RESULTS FOR UC SYSTEMWIDE OR OTHER UC LOCATIONS, VISIT:  campusclimate.ucop.edu
 
For further information about the UC Systemwide Campus Climate Survey, please refer to: campusclimate.ucop.edu.